Kenya News in Swahili and English

THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD: Psalm 23.

When Bad Things Happen to Good People
“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.” Psalms has been a source of comfort in grief and of courage in fear. The book is talking about living our day-to-day lives. Each chapter discusses the context of both the time when it was written and the present day.  “My cup runneth over” is a declaration of our gratitude for what life has given us and a rejection of the envy we may feel for others.

“Let this cup others.pass from me”

 According to the book of Hebrews, “Let this cup pass from me” this yields a number of instances where “the cup” is a metaphor for “fate” or “situation”. Isaiah 51:17 speaks of drinking from the cup of God’s anger and Ezekiel 23:33 speaks of filling the cup of desolation. Matt. 26:39 talks about “Let this cup pass from me”. There are oppositional points within these psalms, relating chiefly to life versus death and satiety versus starvation, and a deconstructive approach would look at the extent to which the psalms undermines its own focus on the positives.

Psalms 23, ‘The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want; He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters; He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever’.

Note: May Kashito’s soul rest in eternal peace. Jamii and crew send deep condolences to his family, friends and his schoolmates.

Munala wa Munala.

NovemberUTCbThu, 06 Nov 2008 22:26:19 +0000000000pmThu, 06 Nov 2008 22:26:19 +000008 19, 2007 - Posted by | Habari Motomoto

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

