Kenya News in Swahili and English

Kenya Ni Yetu Na Kenyatta Day Ni Yetu Au Vipi?

Last year at Jamhuri day celebration (I was not invited) but I attended, I met a lady who works at the embassy. I tried to introduce myself but she completely refused to respond back. I insisted and I wanted to know her name but she refused even to look at me. A few minutes later, I saw her speaking to my friend and I asked him who she was, he told me her names were Josephine Awour and she works at the Kenyan Embassy. I was surprised to see a public figure like J.V.Awour avoiding to say hallo to the people she represents? Having said the above, the Kenyan Embassy in Sweden must invite all Kenyans to celebrate Kenyatta day. All “noise maker” got their cards last week but my request to Hon. Muhindi is to use the available Medias’ to invite all Kenyans to celebrate the Kenyatta day.
 
The embassy should try to establish contact with us through various local community based organizations like; ODM-KS, NARC-KS and KESOFO so that they can clearly get to know our problems as Kenyans in Scandinavia. I don’t believe even a second they care for us, if they did, they would be in a better position to know us personally since we are very few in numbers in this country. Kenyatta day is a big day for Kenya. I think Kesofo, ODM-KS, M.A.D, CCM and other Kenyan organizations should come up and invite all Kenyans unconditional to celebrate Kenyatta day.
 
Many people are not treated with dignity when they want to talk to some officials at the Embassy. The Embassy officials have chosen a ring of preferred individuals who are above common Mwananchi to associate with. I am very interested to be invited by the embassy for social contact but this has never happened unless I go there under the Kesofo umbrella. Many Kenyans have been discriminated by the Swedes in different ways and still they feel the embassy representatives have discriminated them even more. Only this year, the ambassador organized a gethering for Kenya students in Sweden, unless you had special connections, many were left behind. When Yvonne Wamalwa was here, a very prominent Kenyan businessman organized a party at his house so that Wakenya can say hii to her but she was hijacked by the ambassador crew.
 
Many Kenyans have lost faith with the embassy representatives. They feel completely alone in this country and I think it is time for the Kenyans in Sweden to come out and join those who were invited because Kenya ni yetu au vipi. I would like to remind Hon. Purity Muhindi that we as Kenyans in Scandinavia, we are waiting for her to come out and say “Habari Wakenya, mimi naitwa Mheshimiwa Purity Muhindi”. Don’t care attitude that she is trying to show Wakenya is a sign of lack of respect to Wakenya in general. Many Kenyans in Scandinavia are law abiding people who respect one another. We help one another and we have to remember we are far from home. Our brothers, parents and sisters are back in Kenya and that does why we are so much concerned about Kenyan affairs be it here or home. We have Kesofo in Sweden and she can use it to organize a Kenyan gathering to bring Salamu from Mzee President Kibaki. We are still waiting for that day! Maybe during Kenyatta day, who knows?

Munala wa Munala.

OctoberUTCbWed, 17 Oct 2007 14:23:31 +0000000000pmWed, 17 Oct 2007 14:23:31 +000007 19, 2007 - Posted by | Mijadala

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

