Kenya News in Swahili and English

“Thank You All For Your Support,” Says Njoro.

Mr. Peter Njoro, a Kenyan who resides in Sweden wants to thank all friends who supported him during the dark period when he lost his beloved mother. Here are the words of appreciation from Njoro.

When I received the news that my mother was sick, the fear that sneaked in me who lives far away from home willingly took a sit in my being. That fear of not knowing just how sick she was, was enough to make me want to repent all my sins and make a new deal with God in exchange for my mother’s health. But deep within was the conviction that, she would pull through or probably a refusal to accept that she could actually leave me.
 
My mother had a long standing struggle with her health. She had high blood pressure which had cost her not only a lot of pain and suffering, but also a lot of her time and money to keep it in control. She had a minor stroke once but left hospital in less than two weeks and fully recovered. She had other complications now and then like, headaches, backaches from which she pulled through easily. Besides all these, she was strong and brave and took each day like it was a challenge. She would bounce back to life and continue with her missions like nothing had happened.
 
When the doctor diagnosed her with typhoid, hope was restored in me for I knew that typhoid though a danger zone was treatable. She would be fine, I kept saying to my self.
 
I couldn’t wait for her to get well so that we would move ahead with the plans we had made for this year. I wanted to take care of her. I wanted her to take a time out in her busy life and just live good. Little did I know that a terrible business mishap had left her tired of this earthly life. She did not want to fight anymore.
 
Her headaches got worse by the hour prompting the doctors to recommend an x-ray. By this time, my sister who was constantly updating me with the development or misdevelopment I should say was almost in a state of panic. I could feel the fear in her voice and I kept thinking that she was hiding something from me. But in turn she would tell me that the doctors seemed afraid of telling her the truth about mom’s condition.
 
Each day I woke up scared, each day I went to bed afraid. I somehow, could sense that something was very wrong this time. That my mom did not have the strength to get over another stroke; that her body might not be able to take another blow.
 
My favourite song became, Prayer. And every time I listened to it I would try to sing along in real prayer for my mother. “I say a pray for my mother today. On my knees to the father I pray, guide and protect her every day”, I would sing along. But I could not finish a sentence. Tears would well in my eyes and a clump in my throat and I would have to stop there, and instead sing on in my head.
 
Three days in the hospital, the doctors discovered a broken blood vessel in her brain and advised that she be transferred to another “better” hospital. According to them though, there was no cause of alarm and this did not even require an operation. Tablets were enough to help heal and repair the vessel.
 
I talked to her on her way to the second hospital and got more hope from the strength in her voice. But I did not get to know that she got worse almost immediately after we talked. It was the last time I ever talked to her. Four days later I received the feared call informing me that she had rested.
 
My world crumbled, emptiness, hopelessness, confusion, panic, tiredness crept in like vultures to take a piece of me. I had no idea what to do next; I needed my mom more than ever.
 
A very close friend of mine had been with me through most of these, encouraging me, praying with me making it clear that I was not completely alone. She was like an angel sent to see me through the hardest time in my life. God bless her.
 
Before that day was over, my house was filled with friends. From that day to the day I left for Kenya, I had friends around me giving me all the support I needed to face the days. Their quick actions saw to it that I got all I needed, material and moral, now and then causing a smile on my face when I thought it was impossible to smile.
 
Your efforts were not in vain. It is YOU who make this world stay in its course even when storms set in. You made a big difference in my life and taught me that in this world we are our brother’s keepers. Carry on for your work shall be rewarded in all possible ways.
 
Catherine Kiboi, a true ambassador of God, my angel, Githuku and Mrs Muirani, a brother and a sister, Jacinta Njoroge, a loving mother, true examples of what brotherhood and solidarity is all about, my cousin Mercy, we are family, Jeff O’Lengais, my brother my friend. All those who took part in organizing in my home and the paperwork.
 
The Bagarmossen church, a good example of a Christian church and the goodness of God, keep up the faith and God bless your missionary work.
 
The Kenya Embassy in Stockholm, a service for Kenyans in need. Special thanks to George Kinyua, you know how to do what needs to be done.
 
All my friends who ran to me in my time of sorrow, you have earned the title Companions to me.
 
All that made an effort to ease my pain. Those comforting words in the condolence book that made me know that, you are with me. Cathy and Lisa, your touching words and singing.
 
Please receive my personal thanks to you from the whole of my heart. I will never forget what you all did for me; you were my strength when I was weak. Only God can give to you the equivalent of my gratitude. May his blessings shine upon your lives and every single thing that you do.
 
Am sure that my mother is glad that I have people like you around me.  May the almighty rest her soul in eternal peace.  Amen!
 
Thank you. Njoro Peter.

By: Peter B. Njoro.

AugustUTCbThu, 09 Aug 2007 13:17:40 +0000000000pmThu, 09 Aug 2007 13:17:40 +000007 19, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

